Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content


Southport Special School is divided into five sub schools including:
· Junior School
·  Middle School
·  Junior Secondary School
·  Senior School
·   Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math (STEAM)

The school has a whole-school curriculum plan that incorporates each sectors units for the year as well as the teaching and learning priorities for those sectors. 


The Australian Curriculum sets consistent national standards to improve learning outcomes for all young Australians. It sets out, through content descriptions and achievement standards, what students should be taught and achieve, as they progress through school. It is the base for future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. ACARA develops the Australian Curriculum through rigorous, consultative national processes.

At Southport Special School we use the Australian Curriculum to
Ø  Guide the building of Units of Work for students in Prep to Year 10.
Ø  Create Individual Curriculum Plans (ICPs)
Ø  Guide the use of diagnostic assessments
Ø  Develop Moderation tasks based on the Achievement Standards

If you would like to find out more about curriculum access for students at our school please feel free to email
Kate Przybylo, Head of Curriculum, at